PDA

View Full Version : To Kenny Boy from PW.

Paul Warburton
03-28-2009, 08:48 AM
Hey, man. I had some extra time this morning, and thought I'd dig around and catch up on some of your knowledge about our instrument.
As usual, I am dazzled.
I spend some time over on that other site, and even though you're not around any more, your name comes up frequently and I take loving shots at your ass (as does Richard). LOL!!!!!:D:D Guadagini...LOL!!!:eek: ....Like that.
But make no mistake. I do all that for a very good reason. (To me)
It's kind of a heads up for folks who don't know you and your passion for the double bass. Hopefully, it may be kind of a hint for some folks to come over here and REALLY learn some "cool stuff", as those younger bassists say, about the instrument they've fallen in love with.
As always, my respect. PW. (LOL!!!:mad::p;):D LOL!!!)

Ken Smith
03-28-2009, 10:31 AM
Thanks Paul. Much appreciated. I am still learning myself and always learning.

This week I think I saw my first actual French made Hawkes in the Panormo model. I have seen pics and heard claims but never had one in my hands. This looked similar to the English model but with French Gears. The Linings are wider inside which is typical of the French. The other Frenchies were made earlier and were Jacquet style basses with the older Riviere & Hawkes firm which dissolved in 1889. So, if you see and claims with that label after that date, it's a fraud. This Bass that I saw and played had been refinished in recent years so I wasn't able to look at the French Varnish. Still, it was a nice Bass.

So, you can see that you can never see too many Basses. There is always something interesting to see that you've never seen before.

Paul Warburton
03-28-2009, 01:33 PM
Right on....
After all these years, I think I finally got you figured out.
I don't think you are capable of talking about anything BUT basses. I thought I had some Jones' in this life, but you are something else.