PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Italy!

Pino Cazzaniga
06-12-2009, 12:56 PM
Hi to everyone
I'm Pino Cazzaniga, live in Bernareggio, a little town near Milano, I'm 51.
My work is to make and restore DB and cellos.
I studied at the Civica Scuola di Liuteria of Milano and graduated in 1986, when a friend asked me to make his double bass, my first one.
From then to now I mostly repaired, restored and set up DBs, and few cellos.
I made some instruments too, more or less one per year, only when somebody ask me for, usually a copy or something particular, like a 6 strings violone or a lirone for baroque music. So I don't use my own models.
I work for any kind of musician, amateur or professional or student, I hope with the same passion.
The reason for joining this community instead of just visiting is to ask for informations about an instrument, as I repaired it but didn't see anything similar, and I'm looking for ideas.
I'll post something about it in the luthier's corner.
You will forgive me for this, I hope, and for my italian english too.
Anyway greetings, and fun!

Pino (my real name is Giuseppe, Pino is like Bob for Robert...)

Al Smith
06-12-2009, 02:25 PM
Hello Pino, & welcome!...You are ahead of me with your posts...so I'll welcome you and say a little about myself. I play mostly community orchestra bass near Seattle, WA...USA and am lucky to have an old bass from Europe...maybe you'll have an opinion about it. Look at "French Bass School"...."French.... or not?"...posted by Jake....

I will check out your post in the Luthier's corner....your English is much better than my Italian.....my visit to Italy in 1998 was fabulous!

-ciao

Joel Larsson
06-13-2009, 10:27 AM
Pino, your English is by far the best I have heard from an Italian! Both of you guys, warmly welcome. Perhaps you have also noticed that there are talk about other stuff than basses, too. Grits, for instance. You'll see. :rolleyes:

Richard Prowse
06-13-2009, 04:55 PM