PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from CT

Benton Ridgeway
08-01-2009, 10:28 AM
I have been reading the many informative post on this forum and need to get involved. I play bass in a variety of different styles. I play in a Jamband Fourpeace and enjoy the inprov and music with my friends. I also work with Peter Ferreira a Classical violinist. My wife is also A talented singer and songwriter that I can best descibe as New age. My real gig is as a music teacher in a urban public school. I studied double bass with Robert Black at uconn.

I play both upright and Bass guitar. I seen the practice more on the upright but gig with the electric. What brings me to this forum is my passion for building and reapairing things. I have built speaker cabs and bikes. I ejoy reparing thing such as guitars, tube amps, and all sorts of broken music gear. (after recent a car wreck I have some more repairs speakers mic drum hardware) I have also done some instrument restorations (Gretch 6118, cello, school violins) and am begining a new one.

Good to meet all of you.
Ben

Oren Hudson
08-01-2009, 09:09 PM
Welcome to the forum Ben. Glad you've decided to join in. I need all of the help that I can get with some of the "characters" on here, something you probably already know if you've peaked at some of the wacko threads that some of us are involved in. When you play electric bass guitar, what does your rig consist of? And, of course, I would be remiss if I didn't ask you if you've had the pleasure of eating grits, a real Southern treat. :)

Richard Prowse
08-02-2009, 05:40 AM
Oren, you'll love this. I went to see a Cajun band in Wellington this afternoon called "Grits & Gumbo". True! The leader of the band wants to jam with me - he's a guy from the southern states of the US of A. He liked my playing when he heard me a few weeks ago. He doesn't remember that I once turned up at his wife's restaurant looking for a gig and he told me to 'sod off'! Ah, the times they are a changin'!