PDA

View Full Version : Laminate Constriction

Greg Lorisco
09-11-2009, 02:24 PM
I’m new to KS basses and was noticing a difference in KS from other neck-through (NT) basses. Most NT the neck gets thicker where it joins the body and is the same thickness as the body. But on some KS the neck stay the same thickness and there is another piece of wood that is laminated on top of it to match the thickness of the body.

What is the reason for this type of design and how does that affect the tone?

Ken Smith
09-11-2009, 03:00 PM
I’m new to KS basses and was noticing a difference in KS from other neck-through (NT) basses. Most NT the neck gets thicker where it joins the body and is the same thickness as the body. But on some KS the neck stay the same thickness and there is another piece of wood that is laminated on top of it to match the thickness of the body.

What is the reason for this type of design and how does that affect the tone?

In Making Neck Thru basses the thicker neck/heel 'same piece' design is cheaper to make but less controllable in movement..

The way we make it with the laminated Heel allows us to choose the fingerboard surface side AFTER the neck had been machined and flattened. This way we know which way the wood is actually breathing. If you choose the wrong side, the neck might easier forward bow. In the other design when cut from its larger block mass with Heel and Head in one, the wood springs more for relief and you have sometimes more forward or back bow which causes problems. We like having the choice so we do it the slow, more expensive and better way.

Greg Lorisco
09-11-2009, 07:22 PM
Thanks Ken.

It would also seem that adding the heal would function much like a bolt-on joint and provide the NT with the same low-end kick with the added bonus of great sustain?

Tim Bishop
09-12-2009, 12:45 PM
Thanks Ken.