PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Columbus

Tom Howard
04-04-2007, 08:04 AM
Hey all

I've been playing bass guitar for 25+ years and have taken up double bass in the last year and a half. My current basses are an American Fender Jazz Deluxe 5 string and a Carvin fretless 5'er (both with Ken Smith strings, of course :)) and a rental Shen SB80.

I'm enjoying the upright a great deal, playing in a volunteer chamber orchestra sponsored by my employer and taking jazz DB lessons from Doug Richeson.

The biggest issue I'm having is with improvisation. Having played rock bass for so many years, writing many bass lines but doing almost no improvisation, I'm finding it very difficult to "let go". I will be attending the Summer Jazz Workshop in Louisville this July, so I'm hoping that will help.

Take care
-tom

Ken Smith
04-04-2007, 08:35 AM
Biggest issue is Jazz Improv? I am just curious to know here in your mind. How do you compare the challenges between Jazz inprov and Playing Double Bass in an Orchestra? Have you played enough Orchestra music yet to get a taste of what's entailed to actually play in a Symphony?

To me Classical Bass is the most demanding style I have even encountered. I think at least for me, Improv is easy. No one to tell you the exact notes or dynamics to play and no Conductor to follow either? Also, playing in a section is way harder than playing by yourself. If you like the Classical thing and can put even more time into it, join a community Orchestra as well as the Chamber group. Studying Classical will prepare you for just about anything on the Bass except for feel!

Tom Howard
04-04-2007, 12:11 PM
I say biggest issue because that's my ultimate goal. I joined the orchestra basically because I thought it'd help my intonation and dynamics - which it is a great deal. And I am enjoying it.