PDA

View Full Version : J945 pickups output issue

Amit Shtriker
07-19-2007, 07:14 AM
Hi,
I've been playing a BSR4J-MW for 4 years now, and since I got it I noticed that the output of the pickups is relatively low, at both passive and active modes. I always connected it to the "Passive" input on amplifiers that had seperate inputs for active and passive, as though I used it with the preamp in active mode, most of the time with EQ boost. I always had to use a good amount of gain to bring it to a good level, and the output is always lower compared to other basses (passive and of course active).
This never bothered me as you can see because I sounded a lot better then those basses even at a lower volume..

Lately I started wondering that maybe there is someting wrong with my electronics. Are the J945 pickups supposed to have a relatively low output (and there is nothing extremely wrong about it), ot it's just my pickups that have some kind of a problem?

Thanks a lot.

Tim Bishop
07-19-2007, 07:51 AM
Hi,
I've been playing a BSR4J-MW for 4 years now, and since I got it I noticed that the output of the pickups is relatively low, at both passive and active modes. I always connected it to the "Passive" input on amplifiers that had seperate inputs for active and passive, as though I used it with the preamp in active mode, most of the time with EQ boost. I always had to use a good amount of gain to bring it to a good level, and the output is always lower compared to other basses (passive and of course active).
This never bothered me as you can see because I sounded a lot better then those basses even at a lower volume..

Lately I started wondering that maybe there is someting wrong with my electronics. Are the J945 pickups supposed to have a relatively low output (and there is nothing extremely wrong about it), ot it's just my pickups that have some kind of a problem?

Thanks a lot.

Amit,