Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) (http://www.smithbassforums.com//index.php)
-   Double Bass Talk in General (http://www.smithbassforums.com//forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   First DB - Juzek vs Shen vs shop bass? (http://www.smithbassforums.com//showthread.php?t=2795)

Andrew Toering 01-01-2020 11:34 PM

First DB - Juzek vs Shen vs shop bass?

Hello everyone, I'm having a great time reading this forum top to bottom (currently on page 7) while researching basses. (I was mistakenly waiting for a confirmation email to be able to post but I just tried to log in and here I am!)

I'm a professional cellist/electric bassist/multi-instrumentalist and I finally got hired to play a theatre pit orchestra gig in February doubling on DB/BG. I've wanted a DB for years (played in HS) and I always told myself I'd buy a DB when I got a gig. I think this will mostly be used for musical theatre pit orchestra work and occasional recording in my home studio - probably not in an orchestra section as I'm more likely to be called on cello, but who knows.

I think I'd like to spend $4-5k and willing to stretch to 7 or so if I really fall in love.

So far I've gone to my local violin shop (I'm in the Detroit area) and played the luthier's personal Shen 190 Rogeri Hybrid in addition to their stock, and preferred the Shen. They can order that model for me for $4k (if I remember correctly) but I'd be buying sight unseen. The luthier is confident in Shen's consistency, and he bought his sight unseen as well.

I just went to Guarneri House in Grand Rapids and brought home 2 Juzeks on trial. One of them is this exact instrument for sale again: http://www.smithbassforums.com/showthread.php?t=2596. They were my favorites from that shop in my price range, but now that I have them at home, I remember the Shen I tried being more consistent across the range, having more bottom end, and sounding more like the sound in my head.