Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Go Back   Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) > Double Basses > This New Bass > German/Czech Shop Basses

Old 11-12-2016, 03:52 PM
Junior Posting Member

Jim Lattimore is on a distinguished road
Default Thoughts on this Czech Stradt?

Newbie here. First post.

I've had this double bass for a while but am thinking it's time to go to a new owner since it never gets played. Supposedly, this bass belonged to Viktor Krauss and was his practice bass. He traded this one for a Jusek like his performance model.

it has a brand new ebony fingerboard. The neck was cracked at some point and repaired with epoxy.

Thing sounds amazing. A real cannon.

Any thoughts on provenance or value would be appreciated.

- Jim
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0123.JPG
Views:	539
Size:	412.0 KB
ID:	3397  Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0124.JPG
Views:	517
Size:	402.6 KB
ID:	3398  Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0125.JPG
Views:	514
Size:	357.3 KB
ID:	3399  Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0126.JPG
Views:	532
Size:	542.9 KB
ID:	3400  Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0127.JPG
Views:	526
Size:	327.0 KB
ID:	3401  

Name:	DSC_0128.JPG
Views:	523
Size:	284.7 KB
ID:	3402  
Old 11-13-2016, 11:21 AM
Bassist, Luthier & Admin

Ken Smith is on a distinguished road
Exclamation

No pics of the Back or Ribs?

Provenance? The German/Bohemia(Czech) border area or even Austria somewhere as the basses are all very similar. Made on either side of WWII.

There is no such thing as a Strad bass but all the factories would put that for selling. It is just a Gamba flat back student grade bass from back then.