Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Go Back   Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) > Double Basses > Luthier's Corner

Old 02-17-2014, 08:35 PM
Junior Posting Member

Mike Weems is on a distinguished road
Default Mystery Cello 1670?

I know this is a bass forum but I have this cello and since cellos are double bass's little brother I thought someone here may be able to help me ID it. this is the state this cello was in when I received it and I have been moving it from place to place for the last 20 years. decided to do something with it. I had a Hamm violin of similar construction 1830's. It dose have a date of 1670 written on the back in what looks like lead. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	140217_001.jpg
Views:	935
Size:	795.8 KB
ID:	2926  Click image for larger version

Name:	140217_002.jpg
Views:	827
Size:	844.0 KB
ID:	2927  Click image for larger version

Name:	140217_007.jpg
Views:	897
Size:	796.0 KB
ID:	2928  Click image for larger version

Name:	140217_010.jpg
Views:	880
Size:	605.8 KB
ID:	2929  Click image for larger version

Name:	140217_011.jpg
Views:	828
Size:	662.5 KB
ID:	2930  

Click image for larger version

Name:	140217_014.jpg
Views:	852
Size:	623.3 KB
ID:	2931  
Old 02-18-2014, 12:55 AM
Bassist, Luthier & Admin

Ken Smith is on a distinguished road
Exclamation 1670 or $16.70?.. lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Weems View Post
I know this is a bass forum but I have this cello and since cellos are double bass's little brother I thought someone here may be able to help me ID it. this is the state this cello was in when I received it and I have been moving it from place to place for the last 20 years. decided to do something with it. I had a Hamm violin of similar construction 1830's. It dose have a date of 1670 written on the back in what looks like lead. Any help would be greatly appreciated.