Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Go Back   Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) > Double Basses > Double Bass Talk in General

Old 04-06-2007, 10:14 PM
Junior Posting Member

Chris Rapadas is on a distinguished road
Default Electric player using 1/2 size bass.

Hello all,I am new to the double bass.I have been playing electric for over 15 years and,have decided to start playing DB.I have my first bass coming in a couple of days it is,a LIDL 1/2 size.My thoughts were I would have an easier time transitioning from 34"-35" scale to a 39" string length.Does this make any sense?

My other concern is,will a teacher take Me serious with this bass?I have decided to approach DB as a totally new instrument.So, I will be seeking a teacher to bring me from the bottom up.The bass cost Me $265 shipped on a greyhound so it's not that big of a deal.BTW I'm 5' 11" so.....

Any input would be great and,thanks in advance.....,Chris.
Old 04-06-2007, 11:33 PM
Posting Member

Michael Case is on a distinguished road

I see several problems with this. First is you'll have to adjust to a 3/4 sized bass anyway and getting a 1/2 size really doesn't help the transition. Secondly, when you want to get a 3/4 bass it will be hard to sell the 1/2 size bass since it's not a desirable instrument due to it's smaller size.

If it's not too late, cancel the 1/2 size order and get a 3/4 sized bass. It's not that hard of a transition. Trust me, I went from EB after about 15 years to DB and while it does take time, the size difference is quickly manageable.

Myspace
Old 04-07-2007, 02:01 AM
Junior Posting Member

Michael,thanks for the advice.I really have had those points in mind and, I agree.Unfortunately,it is too late to cancel the order however, I have a luthier who will set it up for Me then maybe I can sell it to recover cost.Thanks again!Anyone else want to chime in?
Old 04-07-2007, 04:21 AM
Senior Posting Member

Richard Prowse is on a distinguished road

Quote: