Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Go Back   Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) > Double Basses > Double Bass Talk in General

Old 07-05-2007, 06:33 AM
Junior Posting Member

Pete Collins is on a distinguished road
Default Bass I.D. help

Anyone any ideas or info please on my old bass.i recently accquired.
Interested to know origin,woods used and value(if any)
I'm pretty sure the top is carved spruce,fingerboard definitely
isn't ebony(so would this mean it was a budget type model?)
Don't know what the back/sides and neck/scroll are made from.
Only thing written inside is a detail of a repair done in Newcastle UK 1960
There's possibly a name/date written on the outside upper bout but it's so small/faded i don't think it's much help.
It's a full size ,but i think maybe narrower body.
It came with a bow that has CZECHOSLOVAKIA printed but i suppose that doesn't help much.
I'm new to the world of double basses have been reading up here what i can,would take an uneducated guess it's a turn of the 20th century German student/budget bass.
Pete
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DB1.jpg
Views:	560
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	270  Click image for larger version

Name:	2b67_3.jpg
Views:	555
Size:	161.4 KB
ID:	271  Click image for larger version

Name:	304b_3 (2).jpg
Views:	585
Size:	192.7 KB
ID:	272  

Last edited by Pete Collins; 07-05-2007 at 09:59 PM.
Old 07-05-2007, 10:50 PM
Bassist, Luthier & Admin

Ken Smith is on a distinguished road
Cool origin and pics..

I would like to see the Back and the Scroll/peg box by itself as well as any other details you can see with your eye. This will help ID the Bass. From your pics, I cannot tell if the Bass was refinished or not or just altered.