Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Go Back   Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) > The Bull Pit

Old 01-22-2007, 06:05 PM
Senior Posting Member

Richard Prowse is on a distinguished road

Well, I'm going to post something to get this going.
Down here (NZ) we've been on summer holidays, though I've been back at work for about a week. I teach at a pretty tough school and I'm the music teacher (head of music, but official title is 'Assistant HOF Arts'). The students don't return until Feb 7th., but there's lots to do and I've just been asked to help sort out another school's music department.
I started playing double bass in 1976, having done an honours degree in composition (with violin performance). I've played a lot of jazz, but my background was originally classical. Probably the highlight of my jazz career was doing a short tour with Gordon Brisker (USA).
He said to me,
"I really like your swing feel". This is probably the best (I've not had many) compliment that I've ever received.
I don't get a lot of contact with other DB players in my area, so sights like this are a mine of information.
For about the last 3 years I've been working on a solo DB repertoire which is sort of jazz based with a tinge of classical and world music. It's all arco.
I changed to German bow about 2 - 3 years ago after injuring the first finger on my right hand.
The guy who built my German frog did it a funny shape, so my bow is a bit different from the standard... the bottom of the frog is flush with the hair. I'd love to find out about more this type of frog design. I have stuck with this frog because I can't really afford to replace it ($600NZ + rehair), but I feel pretty happy with it.
I also play BG.
I'm 54 years old and have two children in their 20's. I've been married for nearly 23 years.
Why am I telling you all this?
Well, when you see a post by me, you'll know a bit about who I am.