Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Go Back   Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) > Double Basses > Bows (and Rosin etc)

Old 09-02-2011, 04:26 PM
Senior Posting Member

Richard Prowse is on a distinguished road
Default How tight is your bow?

I was practising the other day and working on tone. I suddenly got back into investigating something I had overlooked for quite a while - how tight my bow hair was. Now, I'm no scientist but, it makes sense that hair on a looser bow will make contact with more of the surface area of the string. I loosened my bow until I could easily push it onto the string and make the middle of the stick touch the hair - probably not a good test for German bows, but mine is an ex-French bow and the luthier designed the frog a little differently to keep the balance of the bow pretty much the same as it was as a French bow.
I was just wondering if anyone out there had thoughts on bow tightness, or had a system (eg. 3 complete winds) to keep the tightness of their bow regular.
Old 09-02-2011, 04:39 PM
Bassist, Luthier & Admin

Ken Smith is on a distinguished road
Cool How tight?

Depends on how you play. You don't want the hair dragging on the stick. That will break hairs. Play your hardest ffff with the bow and tighten it until your hairs do not hit the string. This can be altered depending on what you are actually playing. Stronger/harder players tighten the bow more on average than lighter players. On average is the key as players do what they like or feel they need. You can do the same. Do what works best for you. No rules here per say.
Old 09-22-2011, 02:28 AM
Senior Posting Member

Come on Ken, we humans make up rules for everything. Maybe we need to formulate bow tightening rules?
Well, as a guide.
Old 09-23-2011, 12:53 AM
Posting Member

Terry McDougal is on a distinguished road

Somewhere in the middle? You don't want a tight kilt, nor a loose one, for obvious reasons.
Old 10-10-2011, 11:45 PM
Senior Posting Member