Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Go Back   Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) > Double Basses > Music [DB] > General Double Bass Music and Playing

Old 01-26-2007, 04:47 AM
Bassist, Luthier & Admin

Ken Smith is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Your first Bass Books...

I started playing Bass in 7th grade and can't remember the name of the Book we used. When I got to High School the Bass teacher told me to buy the Simandl Book. This was the first serious Bass book I had seen. Just about every private teacher I went to used the Simandl along with their own exercises for training and breaking bad habits.

Here's a thread I started on Talkbass about a year ago. it is still a Sticky in the Orch section.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Orchestral Technique & Method Studies Thread (pub. on TB 3/06) I am starting this thread to compile a list of method books and fingering styles as well as Bow Techniques for the Double Bass student. I myself am still a student after starting slightly over 40 years ago.