Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Go Back   Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) > Double Basses > Luthier's Corner

Old 01-23-2007, 09:34 PM
Junior Posting Member

Patrick Wasserman is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Patrick Wasserman
Default C-Extensions

As a high school student, I'm really not sure if this is a good idea or not. I know it is not at all necessary, but I've been saving up plenty of money, and I thought it might be a cool thing to do for my Kolstein Fendt.

To my understanding, the four types of C-extensions are a stenholm, one with chromatic locks, an E-lock and one sliding lock, and then a fingered extension (sorry for using the word lock, I forget the right term). Of these, I'm not really sure about the advantages and disadvantages. Either help me and decide which of these is most effective, or help my wallet and convince me to not do anything

Thanks,
Patrick
Old 01-23-2007, 10:14 PM
Bassist, Luthier & Admin

Ken Smith is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Extension Types..

In todays Orchestras unless it's been on the Bass awhile the two most common types are the Latched/Chromatic Extension or the Fingered/E-latch only Extension. This is what I have seen either on TV or in person. The NY Phil is mixed but Bill Blossom has made some Extensions for his and other Basses. The Philly Orch has either Mechanical Exts of older installations or Chromatic/Latched Exts with only one exception and that's the asst. Princ. Neil Courtney who has a Fingered/E-latch on his attrib. d'Salo Bass.

The difference in price between the Fingered and Chromatic is about 40% from my experience. My advice is get one of the guys who makes both types to make you a Fingered Ext. with the possibility of adding the latches later.

Arnold, Jeff? Wanna steer this guy on the right direction?
Old 01-24-2007, 12:55 AM
Junior Posting Member

Jeff Bollbach is on a distinguished road