Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Go Back   Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) > Double Basses > Double Bass Talk in General

Old 12-13-2009, 08:52 PM
Senior Posting Member

Calvin Marks is on a distinguished road
Default mic/recording

Hi all, Im a total beginner when it comes to the world of recording. I need to make a DVD recording for an audition and I'm not sure where to begin.

My friend told me that most camcorders are not good quality enough to pick up a decent sound so he said he just use the camcorder to capture the video then plug in a mic to capture the sound.

Now, the question....What's a good quality recording device to record just arco...nothing plucked.

Thank you very kindly.
Old 12-13-2009, 11:18 PM
Posting Member

Dave Martin is on a distinguished road

Calvin, what part of the world are you in? You may well be better off going with a professional for this, for a couple of reasons: First, every hour you spend trying to figure out how to record your performance is an hour you didn't spend perfecting for your performance. Second, high quality microphones are really expensive to buy (a great sounding Neumann U47 can cost around $8K, and even the venerable RCA 44dx ribbons seem to have past the $4k mark) and a cheap one sounds cheap. Lastly, having a great sounding room and a knowledgeable engineer do make a difference.

If the audition is important to your future, a few hundred dollars might not be a bad investment...
Old 12-14-2009, 10:27 AM
Senior Posting Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Martin View Post