Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB)

Go Back   Ken's Corner (Bass Forums Sponsored By KSB) > The Bull Pit

Old 06-26-2009, 11:59 AM
Bassist, Luthier & Admin

Ken Smith is on a distinguished road
Arrow RIP Michael Jackson (1958-2009)

I just heard yesterday about his sudden passing. He was a one of a kind person and the Artist of the Century.

Two of his past Bass players were Smith Bass users, Don Boyette and Freddy Washington.

I remember seeing him on TV as a young boy doing ABC, the Jackson 5. In the 1980's when I heard he was coming back out as a solo Artist, I didn't believe it would come to much. At my first Calif. Namm show in 1980 I met Jermaine Jackson who came to try out my Bass. The one I had on display was made for Stanley Clarke who picked it up after the show with me included as I was his house guest for the rest of the coming week.

Meeting Jermaine was the closest I had come to meeting Michael with the exception of the time Don Boyette came over to the NY office/shop to pick out a new bass and brought most of the band with him, less MJ.

Well, the rest is history so RIP MJ, you will be missed...
Old 06-26-2009, 12:59 PM
Senior Posting Member

Tim Bishop is on a distinguished road
Default Yes.

Wow, what a talent he was.

It's a shame he had to endure not only the very large expectations that were put on him at such an early age, but the wrath of the sleezy paparazzi/media throughout his life. The allegations that he was hit with, I believe, were nothing more than low-life opportunist looking to make a buck, which they did. I never believed those allegations then and I don't believe them now. It's no surprise to me he felt the need to escape from it as he did.

I would hope that there are those people left in the world that see beyond the paparazzi/media BS/sleeziness that surrounded Michaels life and see Michael for the person and talent he was.

Old 06-26-2009, 01:42 PM
Senior Posting Member

Arnold Schnitzer is on a distinguished road